Odds N Ends – Old Buildings, Old Stuff, Old People

One of the reasons we love road trips is because of all the beauty we encounter on the way.  Funny thing is, we also love all (OK…maybe not ALL) of the ugly we also encounter.  You know the old saying, “One man’s trash is another man’s treasure.”  Well, one man’s ugly is another man’s beauty.  I guess I have to explain that one.  What we might see as ugly in some areas, others see as ‘quaint,’ ‘interesting,’ ‘unusual,’ or maybe even ‘ruggedly handsome,’ if you can say that about landscape and buildings.

Maybe I should give you a for-instance. While on a road trip through Canada and Washington, we passed this building in some long-forgotten little burg (only forgotten by me, as I cannot for the life of me remember where we were when I took this picture), and my first thought was, “EWWW…what a rundown looking place.”

memories of days gone by

Then thoughts of what used to be here caught up with my imagination. What was this like in its heyday?  Was it a thriving clothing store, or grocery store, or bank, or (insert any business name)? What were the people’s lives like who ran this business? What caused it to come to be in this condition?  Not far from here was another storefront that appeared to still be at least in partial use.

Trash or Treasure? Depends on your outlook.

Seems to have been a market for old tires and doors. My eye was drawn to the toys in the window – my boys would have been in toy-blissdom in that store. Yah, I know that’s not a word, but it fits. And there again, I wondered what the people’s lives were like in the bygone days of this town, how the lives of their descendants are now, and if they still live here and tell of the Good Ol’ Days, when the town was thriving. Or . . . did it ever thrive? Was it a pass-through place that never quite made the news in the Bigtime Burg Press?  These are thoughts that meander through my brain as we travel and I’m not driving.

Sometimes we pass scenes that are just funny to us – like some of the road signs or storefront signs we’ve seen. Unfortunately, I missed a bunch of those because I was driving and cannot master the steering wheel and the camera at the same time, and hubby is not always that interested in road signs as photographic models. Oh well.  But a few we did get on camera!

An explanation was apparently needed here…it’s “A Restaurant”

A view from the street might give an indication as to why the explanation was needed…

This is a restaurant. The sign says so.

We were totally fooled by the outward appearance – who’d a thunk??

In many parts of the country, we drive past some beautiful old barns and houses – some in excellent shape, some about to fall down, some in the process of self-demolition as we drove past. They all hold a story, or stories, depending on how old they are.

I would love to have seen this in its prime

old but not dead!

It has hauled its last load

We came across this old school building, burned out and left to rot in the sun. What a sad picture. I had to wonder how many students from this school still lived in the area, or had moved on, or died; how many drive by this and remember their days here? How many stories of school-days escapades were handed down to the next generation?

little school on the prairie

hear the bell? time for school! I wonder if it served as a church too??

a peek inside – such a loss

beauty even here!

Some of the farms we passed were well kept, functional, productive. I wonder if they knew the families from these other old places???

looks more like a garage than a barn to me, but well-kept!

As we travel around, we often come across really interesting looking people too, and since we’re people-watchers, I find the show fascinating. But, since I didn’t have anyone’s permission to feature them here, I’ll just stick with my own salute to interesting people everywhere:

the secret wave…are you in the club?

This is just one of our road trips that are memory-makers for us.  What’s a memory-maker for you?

4 thoughts on “Odds N Ends – Old Buildings, Old Stuff, Old People

  1. Ah! You and I are SO alike!! I absolutely get lost in thoughts of what an old buildings have seen. I wonder if our parents were related to each other? lol

Talk to me.

