Travel Theme: Foliage

I sense a change in the air.

Today the sunlight caressed my face with a wistful kiss – a parting embrace before hitching a ride on the next southbound rain cloud. *sigh* I will miss it, but it’s not forever.  I do like the rain . . . just . . . not as much as I like the sunshine . . . that’s all. But I love autumn – the colors of the leaves evoke a feeling of excitement and anticipation, like something momentous is about to happen. I love the crunch under our feet when we go for a walk in the forest, and the snap of the branches as we push our way through the underbrush. And the rustle of the leaves, when the wind blows through the tops of the trees, makes me want to sing. It’s a joy to touch and hear and see the change of the season.

This morning I got to see a giant maple leaf saunter to the ground just as I neared the tree, swinging and dancing and laughing on the breeze. I wanted to join the dance and swirl to the same music, but alas, I was in the car on my way to work, and could only glance at it as I drove by.

rain on the riverfront

Even a cloudy, rainy day in autumn can bring joy. It’s not actually raining yet, but it will be in a very few days – I’m positive of that. Those are the kinds of days that make me want to curl up by the fire with a good book – or take a ride on the riverboat. OK…I confess. I only took a riverboat ride once – but I enjoyed it as much as if I’d gone four or five times!

The first days of autumn make me think of the last grapes of the season – still warm and sweet, but waning.  Hey – speaking of grapes – on one of our day trips, we happened across a vineyard at the end of grape season. Even the splotchy grapes displayed a certain regal beauty. I think grapes ARE royal, aren’t they? Well, if they’re not, they should be!!

How does autumn affect you? Join Ailsa at Where’s My Backpack? and share your photos and feelings for her travel theme: foliage.

6 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Foliage

  1. What an atmospheric picture of the rain on the riverfront. I haven’t seen any rain for almost 3 months I would love to see and feel and here it as it is in your photo

    • We haven’t had any here for a few months either, but it’s in the forecast. The riverfront photo was a couple of years ago, but I love the picture, and the memories it evokes when I look at it.

Talk to me.

