My Ramblin’ Rose to New Heights

Well, I just opened my email, and the new Daily Prompt was something about writing for ten minutes and then hitting “Publish.” Man, that could lead to some ‘interesting’ reading! I tend to ramble a LOT in my thoughts, and often need to corral all those stray chickens (japanese chickens at that) to make anything I say coherent. Well, that ain’t a gonna happen in this post, I reckon.

Now I bet you’re wondering what in the world a japanese chicken is. Well, I’m just about to tell you. πŸ˜† Wait – did I tell you this one before? Maybe. Oh well, for those who may have missed that little bright spot in my writing, here it is again. The story of the japanese chicken. Read on. I know, it appears to have nothing to do with the title set forth here with such enthusiasm and self-confidence. But read on, you’ll see.

Now for that story. Well, about . . . oh . . . 11 years ago (or thereabouts), I was sitting at my kitchen table with my friend and two of her kids. We’d been sitting there talking for roughly an hour, having a GRAND ol’ time, when all of a sudden – right in the MIDDLE of one of my best stories – her 12-year-old son pushed back in his chair, tapped his fingers on the table, and said, “Yep, japanese chickens.”

Naturally, that statement put an abrupt stop to whatever juicy tidbit of news I’d been sharing at that point. His mother and I both stopped (me talking and her listening) and looked at him, mouths agape and eyes bugged out. I think we even said in unison, “What?”

He then set his chair back to its proper position, made a great show of looking at his watch, and made a very astute observation. He said, “Well, it’s like this. We’ve been here about an hour, and you guys have been talking since we got here. The conversation started out talking about Japanese stuff, and now you’re talking about chickens. I just wondered how you got from Japanese to chickens all in the same conversation, and without missing a beat.”

And that, my friends, is how the term “japanese chickens” was born. It means a conversation (or in this case, a post) that can go from one subject to many, many other totally unrelated subjects, smoothly and without interruption, and in the end make total sense to the persons involved.

And that is the end.

9 thoughts on “My Ramblin’ Rose to New Heights

  1. Pingback: RAMBLE PROMPT « hastywords

  2. Pingback: Didn’t I Just Do This? – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Go or Maybe | My Blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ready, Set Go | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

Talk to me.

